Start with these resources:
Fair Housing Act (Summary of main points)
What are covenants? Read about covenants, then read through each example.
Depression Era Redlining Map- Choose cities to analyze
Look at these resources next:
Race and Real-Estate in Mid-Century DC-Read through the slide show and investigate some of the primary sources more closely.
Follow-up with these resources:
Deep-Dive with this Podcast, featuring an expert on housing discrimination
Choose one primary source text
Chinese Immigrants Confront Anti-Chinese Prejudice (1885, 1903)
Analyze additional primary source artifacts
Chinese American Inclusion/Exclusion
Follow up with these resources
Ghost River/Digital Paxton
"Replace with Document Title." Digital Paxton: Digital Collection, Critical Edition and Teaching Platform, The Historical Society of Pennsylvania and the Library Company of Philadelphia, *(replace date), digitalpaxton.org/works/digital-paxton. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
1. From Beginnings section, analyze the two maps.
2. Focus on the readings from the Massacre section.
3. The Public Debate section. After the actions of the Paxton boys were condemned, they waged a publicity campaign to defend their actions. This section contains pro-Paxton political cartoons and pamphlets.
Concerning a Massacre of Friendly Indians- Benjamin Franklin (also found in section 2 above)
Follow-up: Ghost River Official Website (Exhibition and digital graphic novel)
Fenton, Will, et al., editors. Ghost River. Library Company of Philadelphia, 2019, digitalpaxton.org/works/digital-paxton. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
Begin by reading works by leader Cesar Chavez:
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Recommended readings: "Letter from Delano," "Introduction to Forty Acres," and "Commonwealth Club Address"
You may also want to look at this reflection by Dolores Huerta.
Follow-up with the Farmworker Movement Online Gallery
Use the Exhibit menu on the left-hand side of the page.
Recommended: Farmworker Art and Graphics AND Cesar Chavez NFWA Story. The Boycott Buttons are also worth a look.
Citation for Farmworker Movement Documentation Project:
"Replace with Document/Exhibit Title." Farmworker Movement Documentation Project, UC San Diego Library, (replace date), libraries.ucsd.edu/farmworkermovement/documents/. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
Texas State Historical Association- Virtual exhibit provides a nice overview with artifacts
Brosveen, Emily. "World War II Internment Camps." Texas State Historical Association: Handbook of Texas, 24 July 2020, www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/world-war-ii-internment-camps. Accessed 13 Jan. 2022.
After Pearl Harbor: Look at the two government documents, Executive Order 9066 and Conference with General DeWitt
Executive Order 9066 dated February 19, 1942, in which President Franklin D. Roosevelt Authorizes the Secretary of War to Prescribe Military Areas; 2/19/1942; Executive Orders 9041 - 9070; Executive Orders, 1862 - 2011; General Records of the United States Government, Record Group 11; National Archives Building, Washington, DC. [Online Version, https://www.docsteach.org/documents/document/executive-order-9066, January 13, 2022]
Exhibit L: Copy of "Conference with General De Witt"; 1/4/1942; United States v. Korematsu; Criminal Case Files, ca. 1851 - 1986; Records of District Courts of the United States, Record Group 21; National Archives at San Francisco, San Bruno, CA.
Watch Oral Histories
Replace last name, Replace first name. Interview. Densho Digital Repository, Replace date, ddr.densho.org/narrators/. Accessed 13 Jan. 2022.
Recommended: Akashi, Aburano, Aihara, Abe
First-Hand Accounts in A More Perfect Union
A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans and the U.S. Constitution. Smithsonian National Museum of American History, amhistory.si.edu/perfectunion/non-flash/index.html. Accessed 13 Jan. 2022.
Museum of the City of San Francisco- Newspaper articles
"Replace article title." The Museum of the City of San Francisco, replace date, www.sfmuseum.org/war/evactxt.html. Accessed 13 Jan. 2022.
List of resources from the National Archives
"Replace with Section Title Here." Carlisle Indian Industrial School, www.carlisleindianschool.org/. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
Carlisle Indian School (Historical Marker)
"Carlisle Indian Industrial School Historical Marker." Explore PA History, WITF, explorepahistory.com/hmarker.php?markerId=1-A-228. Accessed 30 Aug. 2003.
University of Washington Digital Collection
Marr, Carolyn J. "Assimilation through Education: Indian Boarding Schools in the Pacific Northwest." W University Libraries: Digital Collections, U of Washington, content.lib.washington.edu/aipnw/marr.html. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
The Black Dispatch (Copies from June 1921)- Each group member find and read one article related to the massacre.
SAMPLE CITATION:
"To Rebuild Greenwood" The Black Dispatch (Oklahoma City, Okla.), Vol. 6, No. 29, Ed. 1 Friday, June 24, 1921, Oklahoma Historical Society https://gateway.okhistory.org/ark:/67531/metadc152338/?q=June%201921
Telegram correspondence from the governor of Oklahoma- Read a few of the telegrams concerning the race massacre and its aftermath.
"Replace with Item Title." Digital Prairie, (replace with original item date), digitalprairie.ok.gov/digital/collection/race-riot/search/searchterm/telegram!tulsa/field/docume!all/mode/exact!all/conn/and!all/order/date/ad/asc. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.
Tulsa Historical Society and Museum- Read through the introduction, then go through the photo exhibit. (Warning: some images are disturbing)
"1921 Tulsa Race Massacre." Tulsa Historical Society and Museum, 2021, www.tulsahistory.org/exhibit/1921-tulsa-race-massacre/. Accessed 6 Jan. 2022.