HHS English Grade 12: 12th Grade Term Paper

 

 

​

 

Choose database according to time period of event.

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras - Pre-History - 1500  (Database)

World History: The Modern Era - 1500 - Present  (Database)

Cite ABC-CLIO as Online Database

 

 

Cavendish Square - Search in Middle Ages and Renaissance eBooks.

 

 

Power Search Searches ALL Power Library Databases!

 

To log into Academic OneFile from home you will need to enter 

your public library card number. If you don't have a public library card you can

apply for an ecard

 

 

SALEM PRESS

Use your own username and password to log into Destiny

Tips on Developing a Focus

 

• Get an overview by reading a general or specialized encyclopedia article on the broad topic.

• Take note of: Names, Dates, Places, Important Facts, and/or Major Events

• Determine main call numbers and browse books in appropriate main call number sections.
• Read over chapter titles in Table of Contents of book in main call number section to get focus ideas.
• Read over subjects in book indexes to get focus ideas.
• Select a topic that has a significant amount of pages. (Look for hyphens.)
• Reminder: In an index italics and bold face sometimes denote pictures.

Make the best of what you find:

 

• Use Bibliographies found in resource, ACCESS PA and Inter-Library Loan procedures to get books and resources from another library.
• Don’t tell your teacher your topic choice unless you have already identified at least 50% of the total number of resources you think you will need to complete your project or paper!

REF 909.7 DIC Dictionary of Middle Ages
REF 940.2 ENC Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
REF 909.07 MED The Medieval and Renaissance World
REF 909.07 MED Medieval World
REF 909.07 GRE Great Events from History. The Renaisance and Early Modern Era, 1454-1600
REF 941.07 ENC Encyclopedia of Romanticism. Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s
REF 941.081 VIC Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia


KEYWORD MAIN CALL NUMBERS
Middle Ages/Medieval 909.07
Renaissance 940.2
Anglo Saxon 941.01
History, England 914.2; 942
Literary Criticism, English 820
Biography, Collective 920
Biography, Individual 921

• Many databases allow you to directly export citation to NoodleTools
• You can easily cite print books in Noodle Tools using the book's ISBN number
• You can paste a generated citation into NoodleTools

 

 

 

Click on Sign In with Google   

Log in with your student UN and PW

Select text and the option to Highlight and take Notes should appear

You can click on Notes and type a note. Click on Save when finished.

To review highlights and notes, click on the top right

Click Download and save to Google Drive  

 Arts & Humanities Through the Eras 5 volume set

        see titles below. Ebook only -Gale Virtual Reference Library

First step in Noodle Bib is to identifly what you are citing (magazine, book, newspaper... ) Here's how you can tell what your source is.

Year only=book

Month & year=magazine

Season & year=journal

Specific date=newspaper

 

 

In Noodle Tools cite ABC-CLIO as a database

On the next page, select Original Content (at the bottom)

Name of Database = Is the section you are using in ABC-CLIO. (World History: Ancient AND Medieval Eras is one section you may be using)

Publisher = ABC-CLIO